nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Alongside the debut of new Legend Mad Maggie, Apex Legends Season 12: Defiance will also bring a new limited time, 9 vs 9 mode called Control. Defiance and its new mode come to Apex on Feb. 8.  Here’s everything we know about Control mode so far.

What is Apex Legends 9 vs 9 mode?

The new Limited Time Mode coming to Apex Legends is called Control, and will only be available to players during the first three weeks of the Defiance season. In this mode, players are put onto teams of nine and allowed to choose their own loadouts before dropping onto a map where each team tries to control a point. The mode features infinite respawns, so players will be able to constantly re-enter the fray to try and help their team secure the point for themselves. Whoever ultimately captures the most points will emerge the victors.

This mode isn’t getting any kind of special map, though Respawn did tease that something will be different about Olympus in the upcoming season.

Other changes in Season 12

The most obvious, and exciting change coming to Apex with Season 12 is the addition of new Legend Mad Maggie. We don’t have a ton of details on her actual kit yet, but Respawn have dubbed her “a cutthroat punk-rock warlord and the Outlands’ meanest mad-lass.”

Alongside the Season 12: Defiance updates, Respawn will also be celebrating Apex Legends’ third birthday. As part of the festivities, players will be able to earn three Legends, three Thematic Packs for each of them and a Legendary Pack. The Legends players can unlock during this limited window are Octane (Feb. 8-15), Wattson (Feb. 15-22) and Valkyrie (Feb. 22-March 1).

Players will get three Thematic Packs per Legend during that unlock period. Redeeming these Legends during the aforementioned windows will permanently unlock them for players, even after the anniversary celebration has concluded.

As usual with a new season, a new battle pass and ranked season will also start once Defiance kicks off.

More News