ALGS announces 2022 Champions and qualifying teams
The 2022 ALGS Champions tournament will be in Raleigh, North Carolina in July
The 2022 ALGS Champions tournament will be in Raleigh, North Carolina in July | Provided by ALGS

ALGS announces 2022 Champions and qualifying teams

We're heading to Raleigh

On Sunday, after Reignite won the Apex Legends Global Series Split 2 playoffs, the ALGS announced that the year’s biggest event, Champions will take place in Raleigh, North Carolina from July 7-10. In addition to the date and location, the ALGS also revealed the updated list of teams that have qualified for Champions.

Recommended Videos

ALGS announces 2022 Champions

The ALGS 2022 Champions event will be held in Raleigh, North Carolina, which will be significantly closer for North and South American teams than the Split 2 playoffs in Stockholm, Sweden. Like the Split 2 playoffs, the tournament will start on July 7 with the group stage, where the 40 qualified teams will compete for placement points towards moving into the upper bracket. Once seeding has been determined, teams will compete in the bracket stage from July 8-9 to qualify for the grand finals. The finals will take place on July 10 and will also use the match point format.

Beyond the dates, locations and teams, the ALGS has not revealed any further information about this event. It is currently unknown if Champions will adhere to the same strict COVID-19 guidelines used for the ALGS Split 2 playoffs, if there will be any changes to the hardware players have access to, or if a live audience will be allowed to attend the event.

Teams qualified for Champions

Currently, 30 teams have qualified for the 2022 ALGS Champions tournament. The final ten will be determined through the final last chance qualifier of the season. The thirty teams that have already qualified are:

  • Reignite
  • Team Unite
  • Team Liquid
  • OpTic Gaming
  • TSM
  • NRG
  • Luminosity
  • aDRaccoon
  • Team Empire
  • Cloud9
  • GameWith
  • Alliance
  • Team Burger
  • Elevate
  • GMT Esports
  • 100 Thieves
  • Acend
  • Team Singularity
  • DreamFire
  • Sutoraiku
  • V3 Vega
  • Players (Gambit)
  • Oddik
  • Spacestation
  • Element 6
  • IG.International (Invictus Gaming)
  • For7
  • Suave

The top ten teams from the last chance qualifier will join them at Champions.