Frenzy and KoDoRiN voted into Smash Summit 13
A YouTube thumbnail featuring KoDoRiN, who will attend Smash Summit 13 alongside Frenzy.
Provided by FlyQuest

Frenzy and KoDoRiN voted into Smash Summit 13

Europe’s third representative has secured a spot at Summit

Another pair of vote-ins have earned their spots at Beyond the Summit’s next Super Smash Bros. Melee invitational. British Falco main Elliot “Frenzy” Grossman and Californian Marth main John “KoDoRiN” Ko will both compete at Smash Summit 13 in May.

Recommended Videos

Frenzy notably received support from actor and Team Liquid influencer Asa Butterfield during his Summit campaign. In addition, he will now compete at a Smash Summit event for the first time. Frenzy has become the third European on the Smash Summit 13 line-up, joining Swedish Fox mains William “Leffen” Hjelte and Linus “Pipsqueak” Nordin.

Meanwhile, Smash Summit 13 will be KoDoRiN’s third consecutive Summit. However, this will be his first time attending Smash Summit as a vote-in player. KoDoRiN attended Smash Summit 11 as a replacement when Pipsqueak couldn’t make it to the event and then qualified outright for Smash Summit 12 by placing third at Mainstage 2021.

Frenzy will represent Europe at Smash Summit 13 as one of the region’s strongest competitors. He is currently ranked second in the United Kingdom and top eight in Europe on MPGRContenders. The last time he visited the United States, Frenzy placed ninth at the Smash World Tour Melee Championship after defeating Derek “Aura” Olsen, Brandon “Panda” Orooji and Genesis 8 runner-up Jake “Jmook” DiRado.

Smash Summit 13 vote-in KoDoRiN is currently ranked No. 1 in Southern California and is in the top 11 players in North America on MPGRContenders. This year, his notable placements include first at both The Town Throwdown: Episode 1 – The SoCal Invasion and Smash Camp 2022, ninth at Genesis 8 and fifth at Pound 2022.

Across these events, KoDoRiN has also racked up wins over a number of top players. These include Cody “iBDW” Schwab, Kurtis “moky” Pratt, Arjun “lloD” Malhotra, Matt “Polish” Warshaw, Zac “SFAT” Cordoni and Sasha “Magi” Sullivan.

One voting period remains for Smash Summit 13. The final pair of vote-ins will secure their spots at the invitational at 3 p.m. ET on Friday.

Image of Dylan Tate
Dylan Tate
Dylan Tate is an alumnus of the Hussman School of Journalism and Media at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is a gaming journalist with a love for Nintendo esports, particularly Super Smash Bros. and Pokémon.