nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

This weekend, fans of the platform fighter genre will get to enjoy yet another Summit-esque invitational. Sixteen Project+ players will compete at the Hall of Gaming in Wallingford, Connecticut, for Trin “meleesadposts” Schaeffer’s Project M Theatre.

During the voting process, members of the Project+ community raised nearly $35,000. In addition, fans can continue to contribute to the prize pool until the online shop closes at 6 a.m. ET on March 29. In any case, the event already boasts the biggest prize pool in Project M history, surpassing Paragon Los Angeles 2015’s $9,050 prize pool by a significant margin.

Here’s everything to know about the Super Smash Bros. Brawl mod’s biggest invitational before it kicks off in a few days.

How to watch the Project M Theatre

The Project M Theatre will be a two-day event, with Singles and Doubles brackets that will both begin on Saturday. Commentary will be provided by Project M legends like Arjun “Junebug” Rao and Raseen “BaconPancakes” Khan, as well as renowned Super Smash Bros. Melee commentator Kris “Toph” Aldenderfer. Viewers can catch all of the action on the heartswapTV Twitch channel.

While teams will compete in a simple double-elimination bracket for Doubles, the Singles competition will feature two phases. Players will compete in four round robin pools, each with four people, in order to determine the seeding for the final, double-elimination bracket.

Meet the competitors

Xayya “ThundeRzReiGN” Thammavongsa, Jonathan “Sosa” Sosa, Malachi “Malachi” Covington and Michael “techboy” Leleniewski all received direct invitations to the Project M Theatre. In addition, Robert “Kysce” Carrero and Noah “Nogh” Sundook were invited following the postponement of McSmashter 5, which was supposed to be a qualifier event.

Another four players earned their spots by placing well at the two qualifier events that did happen. Kevin “The Doctor” Ascate and Brian “dvd” Sherbert qualified at Blacklisted 6. Meanwhile, Kevin “Blue” Rosas Hope and Shahid “Fearless” Jivani qualified at Jailbreak.

Finally, Project+ fans voted the following six players into the tournament:

  • Cory “Sabre” M.
  • Zack “Flarp” Gordon
  • William “Dr. Grin” Abrams
  • Antonio “Trucker Hat” Oliva
  • Brad “Rongunshu” Sanderson
  • Nick “Stango” Stango

Ontario Project+ tournament organizers announced on March 18 that they had suspended Rongunshu from their events, but Rongunshu will still be allowed to compete at the Project M Theatre, according to a statement from the organizers.

More News