nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

EA Sports has revealed its FIFA 22 Team of the Year awards today. From Jan. 10-17, fans across the globe voted for their favorite players. There were 80 nominees, and the FIFA 22 Team of the Year player items will be available in the Ultimate Team game mode next week. The game mode will first feature items for attackers on Jan. 21.

Winning FIFA 22 players

The attacking player champions include Kylian Mbappé, Robert Lewandowski and Lionel Messi.

In early 2021, Mbappé became the youngest player to score 100 goals in Ligue 1. Later in the year, he achieved 100 goals for Paris Saint-Germain. Meanwhile, Lewandowski scored 43 goals in 2021, becoming the player who earned the most goals in Europe’s big five leagues. As for Messi, he won Best Player at the 2021 Copa America. He also won this award back in 2015.

Jorginho and N’Golo Kanté
Jorginho and N’Golo Kanté. | Provided by Electronic Arts, Darren Walsh and Chelsea FC

According to David Jackson, the brand vice-president at EA Sports Fifa, the Team of the Year awards represent the authentic voice of football fans. These fans vote for the players with the most impact on the game.

“Year after year, we’re energized by the engagement of our global football community, and we’re honored to showcase their chosen XI in FIFA 22,” Jackson said in FIFA 22 Team of the Year awards.

In terms of the other players, the winning midfielders are Kevin De Bruyne, Jorginho and N’Golo Kanté. De Bruyne created 3.7 chances per 90 minutes in the Premier League, while Jorginho achieved interceptions with Italy during the summer of 2021. Meanwhile, N’Golo Kanté had an average of 1.8 interceptions per 90 minutes for Chelsea competitions.

Manchester City winners
Manchester City winners. | Provided by Electronic Arts

One of the winning defenders is João Cancelo, who completed the most passes in Europe’s big five leagues. Meanwhile, Rúben Dias claimed victory in 32 league matches out of 39. As for Marquinhos, he achieved 2,901 out of 3,131 attempted passes. Additionally, Achraf Hakimi had 151 touches in the opposition box in terms of league matches

The FIFA 22 Team of the Year awards also featured Gianluigi Donnarumma, who was the only goalkeeper to win the Player of the Tournament award for Italy in summer 2021.

More News