nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

South Korea’s Sim “NL” Gun won the fourth Capcom Pro Tour Online event Sunday with a victory over Lee “Infiltration” Seon-woo in the final of the Asia East 1 event.

Taiwan’s Sian-He “Xiaobao” Jung finished third in the event, which took place Saturday and Sunday and was open to residents of Taiwan, Hong Kong and South Korea. It drew 107 participants. NL won seven of the eight sets he played in tournament and made it to the grand final without losing. Infiltration would get the best of him in the first set and force a bracket reset, but NL went on to best Infiltration’s Ed with his Cammy and lock in a Capcom Cup berth.

NL’s victory sends him to his third Capcom Cup in four years. He has participated in every Capcom Cup since 2018. Capcom Cup was canceled for the 2020 season, and instead online finals took place for each region participating in the Capcom Pro Tour last year. NL did not play in any online Capcom Pro Tour tournaments last year.

NL joins Kenryo “Mago” Hayashi, David “MJ_Gama” Gamaliel Pinedo Gomeza, Alan “Nephew” Sun and reigning Capcom Cup champion Derek “iDom” Ruffin in the ever-growing lineup Capcom Cup 2022 competitors. No location or date has been announced for the tournament.

Infiltration’s participation in this year’s Capcom Pro Tour is his first since his self-imposed temporary ban in 2018. In late 2018, the Capcom Pro Tour obtained court documents that detailed an altercation between him and his wife in October of 2017. The release of the documents led to an uproar in the fighting game community, with fans calling upon Infiltration’s then-sponsor Panda Global to drop Infiltration from their team and for Capcom to ban him from participating in any Capcom Pro Tour tournaments.

After finishing an internal investigation, Panda Global made the decision to terminate their contract with Infiltration.

The next event in the Capcom Pro Tour, the South America West region competition, takes place May 22-23. This tournament will include players from Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana. Registration for the event is open until Monday.