nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

The first round of spoilers for Magic: The Gathering’s Viking themed set, Kaldheim, have started to make their way online. As part of the Week of Metal several metal bands will be spoiling special cards. This is a special event where players will get their first look at Kaldheim spoiler cards. Hold on to your beard and horned helm as Kaldheim is bringing some powerful cards to Magic.

While lands aren’t typically very metal, the metal band Mastodon gave a look at the land cycle returning to Magic. First seen in the Zendikar Rising set, the rest of the pathway lands will be in Kaldheim. The flip lands are extremely versatile and give players a balanced form of mana fixing without the downside of other, similar lands. The new pathway cycle includes ally color lands and completes the cycle after the enemy pathway lands.

  • Barkchannel Pathway // Tidechannel Pathway
  • Blightstep Pathway // Searstep Pathway
  • Darkbore Pathway // Slitherbore Pathway
  • Hengegate Pathway // Mistgate Pathway

Everything coming to Kaldheim

Pathway lands were quickly picked up by players as an efficient way to smooth out land drops in Magic. With Wizards of the Coast choosing to release these pathway lands immediately after Zendikar Rising’s cycle it may hint to Kaldheim being a heavy multi-color themed set. The last set to have an emphasis on multi-color cards was Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths. Ikoria however, did not have a lasting impact on Standard.

Not much is known yet about Kaldheim other than two fan-favorite planeswalkers are returning, the ghost assassin Kaya and the devil everyone loves to hate, Tibalt. Two new planeswalkers, Tyvar Kell and Niko Aris will be joining them for some Viking-themed adventures.

Wizards of the Coast has the full release schedule on their site where the next round of spoilers are coming on December 24. Players waiting for the Kaldheim spoiler season to really kick off have to wait until January 7. Kaldheim will be available on Magic: The Gathering Arena and Online on January 28, with pre-release events starting on January 29.