nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Pokémon Legends: Arceus has arrived, along with an array of new Pokémon and regional variants. Likewise, Pokémon Legends: Arceus introduced new methods for making Pokémon evolve and a change to how the evolution process functions as a whole.

Here’s all the information you need in order to evolve the new Pokémon in Pokémon Legends: Arceus.

Changes to evolution

Pokémon Legends: Arceus is notably the first main series game in the franchise where evolution is not an automatic process. Instead, players will have to manually initiate the process whenever their Pokémon meets the prerequisites for evolution. As a result, players who don’t want to evolve their Pokémon will not have to press B every time their Pokémon levels up, as in past games.

Whenever a Pokémon is ready to evolve, it will have a glowing yellow Poké Ball symbol next to it in the Pokémon menu. From here, players can click on the Pokémon’s icon to open up a menu where they can select “Evolve.”

A new item called the Linking Cord has changed how to evolve several returning Pokémon in Pokémon Legends: Arceus. The Linking Cord can be used to evolve any Pokémon that previously only evolved when traded. It is a single-use item, meaning players will have to acquire multiple Linking Cords to evolve multiple Pokémon. Additionally, players can evolve Magneton and Nosepass either by taking them to the Coronet Highlands or giving them a Thunder Stone.

How to evolve new Pokémon

Finally, here’s a look at the evolution methods for every new Pokémon and regional form in this game:

  • Rowlet → level 17 → Dartrix → level 36 → Hisuian Decidueye
  • Cyndaquil → level 14 → Quilava → level 36 → Hisuian Typhlosion
  • Oshawott → level 17 → Dewott → level 36 → Hisuian Samurott
  • Stantler → use Psyshield Bash in the Agile Style 20 times → Wyrdeer
  • Scyther → use a Black Augurite → Kleavor
  • Hisuian Qwilfish → use Barb Barrage in the Strong Style 20 times → Overqwil
  • Petilil → use a Sun Stone → Hisuian Lilligant
  • Teddiursa → level 30 → Ursaring → use a Peat Block in Crimson Mirelands during a full moon → Ursaluna
  • Goomy → level 40 → Hisuian Sliggoo → level 50 while there is rain or fog in the overworld → Hisuian Goodra
  • Hisuian Growlithe → use a Fire Stone → Hisuian Arcanine
  • White-Striped Basculin → take 300 HP in recoil damage from using Wave Crash in the Agile Style → Basculegion
  • Hisuian Voltorb → use a Leaf Stone → Hisuian Electrode
  • Hisuian Sneasel → use a Razor Claw during the day → Sneasler
  • Bergmite → level 37 → Hisuian Avalugg
  • Hisuian Zorua → level 30 → Hisuian Zoroark
  • Rufflet → level 54 → Hisuian Braviary

More News