nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

The roster for Beyond the Summit’s next Super Smash Bros. Melee invitational is now set after the end of the final voting period on Thursday. Anees “Free Palestine” Assaf and Gio “null” Rossi earned the final two slots at Smash Summit 12.

Free Palestine borrowed from Nick “yingling” Yingling’s campaign strategy, as many of his supporters circulated an image of Norton the mailman from “SpongeBob SquarePants” wearing a Palestinian keffiyeh. Meanwhile, null received a boost in votes thanks to the endorsement of his fellow Southern Californian, Joseph “Mang0” Marquez.

Hugh “SluG” Hegarty and Sam “Ringler” Corner narrowly missed out on qualifying for Smash Summit 12 alongside Free Palestine and null. SluG is an Ice Climbers main from Philadelphia who recently placed 13th at Mainstage 2021 with a win on Edgard “n0ne” Sheleby.

Ringler has made appearances at Summit as a VIP since Smash Summit 2. He placed 25th at Mainstage, defeating DaJuan “Shroomed” McDaniel and Daniel “Zamu” Bernstein, making a strong case for himself as the best Donkey Kong main in the world.

Meet the last Smash Summit 12 vote-ins: Free Palestine and null

After being given the honorary title of “Mr. 101” in 2018, Ohio Sheik main Free Palestine formally debuted on the top 100 at No. 72 in 2019. He has consistently made top 64 at every major he has entered since The Mang0: Homecoming in November of 2018. Additionally, Free Palestine announced his intention to donate all of his winnings from Smash Summit 12 to a Palestinian relief fund.

While he has yet to make his official top 100 debut, null has steadily risen the ranks in SoCal, one of the strongest regions in the world. Since he began competing in 2017, he has beaten players like Griffin “Faceroll” Williams, Shephard “Fiction” Lima and Weston “Westballz” Dennis, among others. Null will get the chance to compete against many more top players on his home turf in SoCal at Smash Summit 12.

The following 16 players will compete at Smash Summit 12 from Dec. 9-13:

  • Mang0
  • Zain “Zain” Naghmi
  • William “Leffen” Hjelte
  • Masaya “aMSa” Chikamoto
  • Linus “Pipsqueak” Nordin
  • Justin “Wizzrobe” Hallett
  • Juan “Hungrybox” DeBiedma
  • Cody “iBDW” Schwab
  • John “KoDoRiN” Ko
  • Zachary “SFAT” Cordoni
  • Avery “Ginger” Wilson
  • Joshua “Sora” Lyras
  • Sasha “Magi” Sullivan
  • Dan “Tyler Swift” Petruso
  • null
  • Free Palestine