nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Beyond the Summit will host its very first Summit Countdown broadcast on the btssmash Twitch channel on Tuesday. This new program is part of the updated voting system that is going into effect for Smash Ultimate Summit 5.

The new voting process differs significantly from that of previous Smash Summit invitationals; here’s everything that players and prospective voters need to keep in mind about the inaugural Summit Countdown.

Summit Countdown schedule and details

Unlike past events, all of the voting periods for Smash Ultimate Summit 5 will take place on a single day. The Summit Countdown will begin at 5 p.m. ET. The first voting period ends at 6 p.m., when one player will earn a spot at Summit as seven players fall out of the running.

Another player will be voted in at 7 p.m., while four more are eliminated. Then, one player will make it in at 8 p.m., with another four losing their chance to get in. Finally, the voting will conclude at 9 p.m. ET, as one more person is voted in and the last remaining player will be eliminated.

People interested in getting their favorite players into Summit can earn 100 votes by spending $5 in the voting shop on start.gg. Players who registered for Mainstage 2022 before August 9 also received 100 votes. In addition, players who registered for any of the Papa Johns Arcadian online qualifiers received five votes per event, up to 15 votes.

Who’s in the running?

The Summit Countdown will feature the following 20 players, who advanced through the Twitter nominations phase:

  • Pau “Sisqui” Caire
  • Jayjay “Ouch!?” Basilian
  • Oliver “Bloom4Eva” Alexander
  • Takuma “Tea” Hirooka
  • Dominic “T3 DOM” Carone
  • Dylan “ApolloKage” J.
  • Chris “WaDi” Boston
  • Christian “Jahzz0” Ramsay
  • Felipe “Ferps” Moura
  • Toriano “Toast” Warren Jr.
  • Emily “Kiwi” Wajda
  • Enrique “Maister” Hernández Solís
  • Troy “BassMage” Waters
  • Adam “Luugi” Jassim
  • Salvatore “Zomba” DeSena
  • Angel “Onin” Mireles
  • Yonnas “yonni” Gadissa
  • Robert “Myran” Herrin
  • Nicko “Nicko” Bonilla
  • Ziad “Gogeta” Kanaan

As of now, 10 people have already qualified for Smash Ultimate Summit 5. Steven “Anathema” Acosta got in after he went on an 11-set losers run to place second at Rise ‘N Grind. Meanwhile, the following nine players received direct invitations:

  • Leonardo “MkLeo” López Pérez
  • acola
  • Naoto “ProtoBanham” Tsuji
  • William “Glutonny” Belaïd
  • Paris “Light” Ramirez
  • Gavin “Tweek” Dempsey
  • Samuel “Dabuz” Buzby
  • Kolawole “Kola” Aideyan
  • Michael “Riddles” Kim

In addition, another player will qualify for Summit at Shine 2022. Beyond the Summit has not yet announced how the 16th slot at Smash Ultimate Summit 5 will be decided.

More News