Blizzard reveals World of Warcraft Dragonflight launch date - Upcomer
World of Warcraft Dragonflight launch date
Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

Blizzard reveals World of Warcraft Dragonflight launch date

WoW Dragonflight release date arrives alongside epic trailer

The World of Warcraft Dragonflight launch date of November 28 has just been announced; the expansion boasts new zones, Dracthyr Evokers, Dragonriding, a new talent system, updated professions and more. Here’s an overview of what to expect in the upcoming expansion.

Recommended Videos

Four new zones in the Dragon Isles

The upcoming expansion has four new zones, including the Waking Shores, Ohn’ahran Plains, Azure Span and Thaldraszus. Each of these zones reveal lore about the ancient dragon aspects.

The Waking Shores are the Dragonflight expansion’s starting zone and the homeland of the dragonflights before they left it. The zone remained dormant for 10,000 years, but with Azeroth’s world-soul revitalized, ancient allies and enemies alike arose from their slumber. In the new World of Warcraft Dragonflight expansion, Alexstrasza asks champions to help her red dragonflight.

Waking Shores screenshot from the World of Warcraft Dragonflight expansion
Waking Shores screenshot from the World of Warcraft Dragonflight expansion. | Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

Next, the Ohn’ahran Plains was once home to the green dragonflight. Grasslands, hills, mountains and geysers define the scenery. Water also flows through the gardens area while singing stones dot the zone.

The Ohn'ahran Plains screenshot
The Ohn’ahran Plains screenshot. | Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

When players visit the Azure Span, they’ll see snowy peaks, tundra plus tribes of tuskarr, furbolg and gnolls who now call the location their home. The blue dragonflight once roamed this zone, and continuing with this theme, players get to help Kalecgos with a mission there.

Tuskarr in the Azure Span
Tuskarr in the Azure Span. | Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

As for Thaldraszus, it’s a diverse location with mountains, tall structures and waterways. There are also libraries and stunning architecture befitting of the bronze dragonflight’s history.

Screenshot of the Thaldraszus zone in World of Warcraft Dragonflight
Screenshot of the Thaldraszus zone in World of Warcraft Dragonflight. | Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

Dracthyr Evokers in World of Warcraft Dragonflight

In addition to the new zones, the game’s first-ever race and class combination is part of World of Warcraft Dragonflight. Dracthyr Evoker players can switch between human and dragon form.

Here are some facts about the Dracthyr Evoker:

  • Class: Evoker
  • Two Forms: Dracthyr and Visage
  • Armor Type: Mail
  • Weapon Types: Intellect Daggers, Fist Weapons, Axes, Maces, Swords, Staves
  • Specializations: Devastation (DPS) and Preservation (Healing)
  • Alignment: Horde or Alliance (chosen at character creation)
  • Starting Level: 58
Dracthyr Evoker
Dracthyr Evoker screenshot. | Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

Creating one’s first Dracthyr doesn’t have restrictions save from having Dragonflight. A player can have one Dracthyr per realm, but “subsequent dracthyr can only be created once there is a level 50 (non-dracthyr) character on the realm you wish to create it,” according to Blizzard.

Dragonriding, new talent system and more

The World of Warcraft expansion also features Dragonriding, which lets champions literally attain new heights as they take to the skies. As a player progresses through Dragonflight, they can further customize their drake.

Each drake can be customized
Each drake is customizable in the new expansion. | Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

Meanwhile, there’s the re-introduction of talent trees, allowing players to go about their talent choices more creatively. According to Blizzard, the talent trees make talent choices more meaningful at every level without compromises to effectiveness.

Talent system screenshot
Talent system screenshot. | Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

In addition to a customizable user interface, the upcoming expansion also includes eight dungeons. Four of these are level-up dungeons for players who strive to hit the new level cap of 70. There are also four dungeons for players at the maximum level.

The Dragonflight dungeons are the following:

  • Level-up dungeons: Ruby Life Pools, Brackenhide Hollow, The Nokhud Offensive, Uldaman: Legacy of Tyr
  • Max-level dungeons: Neltharus, The Azure Vault, Halls of Infusion, Algeth’ar Academy

As for raids, Dragonflight Season 1 kicks off the week of Dec. 12 with Vault of the Incarnates alongside a new dungeon rotation for Mythic+ and a new season of PvP action.

Image of Amy Chen
Amy Chen
Amy Chen is an esports journalist and enthusiast who specializes in in-depth interviews and breaking news. A University of Toronto and Humber College graduate, she is passionate about building up the Canadian esports industry. Her current favorite games are Hearthstone and Heroes of the Storm, and she has always had a soft spot for World of Warcraft!