nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Carlos “Sonix” Pérez won Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Singles at Elympics #1 on August 15. It was the first in a series of monthly tournaments for players subscribed to Eric “Mr. E” Weber’s Twitch channel.

Sonix unsurprisingly swept through pools without dropping a game. He kept up the pace in top 64, earning 2-0 victories over Matthew “Bankai” Richards and Nicholas “Ned” Dovel. Then in Winners Quarters, Sonix defeated Kolawole “Kola” Aideyan in a tight, five-game set.

Sonix kicked off top 8 with another dominant win, beating Tanner “SKITTLES!!” Jordan 3-0. Afterward, he beat Enrique “Maister” Hernández Solís 3-2. Sonix ended up losing 1-3 to Kola in their rematch in Grand Finals. However, he retaliated with a 3-0 win in the second set of Grands, conquering Kola and winning Elympics #1.

Other results from Elympics #1

Although he fell short of the gold, Kola scored several impressive wins en route to 2nd place at Elympics #1. He flawlessly defeated Michael “KingArc” Shanker, Ezra Samsora Morris, and Luis “Luisfer” Fernando Orellana before dropping a set to Sonix. Then in the losers bracket, Kola eliminated Leonardo “MkLeo” Lopez Perez 3-1 and Aaron Wilhite 3-1.

Kola received a bye in Losers Quarters, as Gabriel “Epic_Gabriel” Romero dropped out of the bracket. After that, he defeated Samuel “Dabuz” Buzby 3-2 and Maister 3-0. Kola even won a set over Sonix before finally losing to Sonix in their third set of the bracket.

Christopher “MouseRat” Blackman made an unexpected run to 9th place at Elympics #1, despite being a relatively little-known player. His bracket was certainly easier than expected, since No. 1 seed Gavin “Tweek” Dempsey dropped out of the tournament. Even so, he earned solid wins over Amir “Stretch” Ismail and Tarik Fayazi.

Noah “Sharp” McCulley dropped into losers surprisingly early, losing to Luisfer in pools. Despite this, he made a deep losers run in order to finish in 9th place. In the process, Sharp eliminated Sergio Perez, Stretch, Santiago “Chag” Perez, Spencer “BestNess” Garner, and Yariel “Tuitt” Collado.