nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Pokémon GO is introducing a new format to the GO Battle League called the Great League Remix, which will begin April 12 and will ban 10 popular Pokémon.

The Great League Remix follows the same rules as the original Great League, but players can’t use the 10 previous most popular picks from the Great League. This is the first time the Great League has ever had restrictions like this.

Banned Pokémon

The 10 Pokémon (13 when counting regional variants) that players cannot use during the Great League Remix are as follows:

  1. Venusaur
  2. Raichu and Alolan Raichu
  3. Marowak and Alolan Marowak
  4. Azumarill
  5. Umbreon
  6. Skarmory
  7. Swampert
  8. Galvantula
  9. Stunfisk and Galarian Stunfisk
  10. Talonflame

The Great League format allows all Pokémon 1,500 Combat Power (CP) or less. These 10 Pokémon were dominant at low CP battles and forced players to use or counter them if they wanted to win games. Their absence from the format will clear the way for new Pokémon that haven’t had as much success in the past.

Pokémon GO Battle League Season Seven

The Great League Remix will begin when Season Seven starts on Monday, April 12 at 1:00 p.m. Pacific Daylight Time. The Remix format will go until April 26 at 4 p.m. ET.

Season Seven will also introduce new GO Battle League rewards, various other new formats and two new attacks that Pokémon can use. Pokémon will be able to use the Grass-type attack, Leaf Storm, which deals significant damage but decreases the user’s attack stat. More Pokémon will have access to the Dark-type move Payback as well.

There is still a week left in Season Six to climb the ladder and earn special rewards, such as an Elite Fast TM for reaching rank 19. Once Season Seven begins, all player ranks will reset and players will have to climb back up to earn new rewards.