Shanghai Dragons unexpectedly make Stage 3 playoff finals

The Dragons convincingly beat favorites Vancouver Titans 4-1.

Overwatch's Icon Sascha Heinisch · 14 Jul 2019

2 comments

Robert Paul for Blizzard Entertainment

In a huge upset victory, The Shanghai Dragons managed to qualify for the stage 3 playoff finals over the Vancouver Titans. After their 4-1 victory, they will face the San Francisco Shock today at 1pm PDT for the stage title.


Fielding three DPS compositions for much of the match, the Dragons won on the back of outstanding performances from Jin-hyeok "DDing" Yang and Min-seong "diem" Bae and consistent, solid performances from the rest of the team.


Never miss a moment in esports.

Match notifications, latest esports news, and more. Get the Upcomer app now.

Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

After a winless 0-40 first season in the Overwatch League, the Shanghai Dragons opted for a complete rebuild of their roster. The organization acquired five of the seven players from the 2018 Kongdoo Panthera roster, and since then, the Dragons have rebounded drastically. They are currently sitting at 8th place in the regular season standings.


Yong-Jin "YOUNGJIN" Jin, Kyungwoo "CoMa" Son, Seong-hyeon "Luffy" Yangas, and DDing, as well as their coach Seong-hwan "BlueHaS" We had participated in the second season of Korean Contenders under the Kongdoo Panthera banner. That season, the team lost the finals against South Korean OGN APEX and Contenders organization RunAway. Since the RunAway roster became the Vancouver Titans in late 2018, the result yesterday may be seen as revenge for the lost Contenders final in August of last year.


In the last stage playoff match in 2019, Shanghai Dragons are looking to upset yet another favorite in the San Francisco Shock. The match will be broadcast on Twitch, ESPN 2 and on the ESPN app at 1pm PDT/4pm ET/10pm CEST.

Latest Stories

Tags

2 Comments

Trending Stories