nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

As Hearthstone Grandmasters Season 2 enters its final regular season weekend and the playoffs approach, Blizzard has announced the dates for the 2021 Hearthstone World Championship.

2021 Hearthstone World Championship
Grandmasters Season 2 format and schedule. | Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

Scheduled for Dec. 18-19, the 2021 Hearthstone World Championship will feature the world’s top eight players. A prize pool of $500,000 will also be at stake alongside a place in the Hall of Champions.

Top Hearthstone players

Four players have already secured their place in the tournament. They include Facundo “Nalguidan” Nahuel Pruzzo, Wataru “Posesi” Ishibashi, David “Frenetic” Neila Quiñones and Huang “KZGXiaobai” Dehui.

While KZGXiaobai recently earned a spot in the tournament, posesi, Frenetic and Nalguidan all came out on top in the Hearthstone Grandmasters Season 1.

“I’m very excited,” KZGXiaobai said on Twitter. “I like the feeling of wearing headphones and listening to white noise, which makes me focus. I have many shortcomings, but I will work hard!”

2021 Hearthstone World Championship
KZGXiaobai wins the 2021 CN Grandmasters Season 1 Playoffs. | Provided by Tony Liu (@1ArchangelCN)

As for the remaining competitors, three of them will qualify to the event in the approaching weeks and at the conclusion of Hearthstone Grandmasters Season 2. The regional winners of Hearthstone Grandmasters Americas, Asia-Pacific, and Europe will get a spot in the tournament. Meanwhile, the champion of China’s Gold Series will receive the final spot in early November.

Where to watch and more Hearthstone esports

Much like Hearthstone Grandmasters, the 2021 Hearthstone World Championship will broadcast on YouTube. Fans can cheer for their favorite players while looking over their deck lists during the live broadcast. The broadcast will take place between Dec. 18-19.

Glory versus Jarla in last year’s world finals. | Provided by Provided by Blizzard Entertainment

Last year, Sato “glory” Kenta won the championship, with Jaromír “Jarla” Vyskočil and Jerome “Monsanto” Faucher taking second and third place. The tournament took place online and involved two groups of four competitors duking it out in the dual-tournament format. After, a single-elimination bracket took place. The competitors played under conquest with a ban format.

Fans can also catch up on the action through Upcomer’s Hearthstone section.