nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

A big update in Hearthstone today put an end to the Year of the Dragon and introduced us to the Year of the Phoenix. In addition to this, Ashes of Outland is now live. Here’s what you need to know about Hearthstone‘s latest update.

Standard sets in the Year of the Phoenix

As with every new year in Hearthstone, older card sets will move to standard. This year, the Witchwood, the Boomsday Project, and Rastakan’s Rumble are all moving to Wild. That means popular cards such as Zilliax will no longer be available in the Standard format.

The Year of the Phoenix standard format will include the following sets:

  • Basic
  • Classic
  • Rise of Shadows
  • Saviors of Uldum
  • Descent of Dragons
  • Ashes of Outland

Sets released throughout the course of the Year of the Phoenix will all be in the Standard Format. Cards earned in the Galakrond’s Awakening Solo Adventure mode will also be usable.

Hearthstone’s first new class

This update also introduces Hearthstone‘s first new class since being released: the Demon Hunter. Players can earn the Demon Hunter by completing the Ashes of Outland solo adventure prologue. Illidan Stormrage shall serve as the first playable Hero of the class.

The Demon Hunter will have a new set of class-specific cards added, along with a new Hero Power that grants him one attack for the turn for the cost of one mana. Players will be able to get cards for this new class in Ashes of Outland packs.

The new class and new set of cards will no doubt lead to a lot of fun and exciting games as we establish the new metagame. Until then, there are going to be a lot of cool new and unique decks out there. Make sure that you check it out before too long!

More News