nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Matt “Elegant” Fitzpatrick won Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Singles at Standoff 2019 in Houston, Texas on Sept 1. It was Elegant’s biggest tournament win of Super Smash Bros. Ultimate and his first tournament win since Overextend in July.

Elegant made it to top 8 on winners side without dropping any games. This included flawless victories against Timothy “Ultimate Razer” Campos and Aaron “Deluxmenu” Carrier. He started off top 8 with a 3-1 victory over Noah “Ismon” Gray.

Elegant faced his first PGRU ranked opponent of Standoff 2019 in Winners Finals. There, he defeated Yatiyaña “yeti” Schaper with a 3-1 set count. Elegant concluded the tournament with another 3-1 win against Alexis “Goblin” Stennett in Grand Finals. Throughout the whole tournament, no one was able to take him to game five.

Though he started off Super Smash Bros. Ultimate with mediocre results, Elegant has done much better in recent months. Along with his Standoff 2019 victory, he boasts 17th place finishes at both EVO 2019 and Shine 2019. This season, Elegant has accrued wins against Ezra “Samsora” Morris, Eric “ESAM” Lew, and Brian “Cosmos” Kalu, among others.

Other results from Standoff 2019

Many local Texas players had unexpected strong performances at Standoff 2019. Ismon reached Winners Semis and placed 5th overall, beating Griffin “Fatality” Miller and Guillermo “StroKaze” Martinez Jr. Deluxemenu placed 7th, with wins over Goblin and Anthony “Dojo” Velarde. In addition, Kansas Duck Hunt main Gavin “Wisdom” Bechtold placed 7th, eliminating Fatality and Luis “Shadow_PR” Alvarez.

After his early loss to Deluxemenu, Goblin had an impressive losers run all the way to 2nd place. He reached top 8 by taking sets against Ultimate Razer and Alberto “Trela” Miliziano. After this, Goblin made his way to Grand Finals by defeating Wisdom, Ismon, Antony “MuteAce” Hoo, and yeti.

R.O.B. main Vincent “SaSSy” M. had a solid run to 13th place at Standoff 2019 after losing to Ultimate Razer in pools. Along the way, SaSSy beat Kalise “PixlSugr” Gartner, Vincent “YellowRello” Moore, and Jon Suarez.