nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

The postseason format and dates for the Call of Duty League are set. We received a leak from a CDL broadcast that told us when Call of Duty Champs would begin, but now we have official confirmation from Activision. The leak did turn out to be accurate, as Champs is set to begin on August 29, 2020 and end one day later on August 30, 2020. However, we didn’t know when the Playoffs leading up to Champs would start. Now we do, along with other information about the format and prize pools.

Let’s take a look at all of the juicy details.

Call of Duty League postseason format revealed

The CDL postseason will officially begin with the CDL Playoffs on August 19, 2020 and run until August 23, 2020. This is another tournament, but will work a little differently from the traditional Home Series events. Instead of eight teams competing, every team will be present. However, only four teams will leave the arena and advance to Call of Duty Champs.

The tournament will be a double-elimination round-robin style with two pools of six. Two teams from each pool will be eliminated, thus leaving us with eight for bracket play. After that, only four will remain and advance to Call of Duty Champs on August 29, 2020. The pools are decided by each team’s place in the standings at the end of the regular season.

Like previous events, the matches at Playoffs will be best-of-fives. The standard map format will be in place, looking like this:

  • Map 1: Hardpoint
  • Map 2: Search and Destroy
  • Map 3: Domination
  • Map 4: Hardpoint
  • Map 5: Search and Destroy
Call of Duty League postseason
The bracket for the CDL Playoffs. Image via CODLeague

This format will last until the Finals at Call of Duty Champs. It’s here where we will see a significant change in the map format. For the first time in Call of Duty esports, a best-of-nine will take place to decide the winner of Champs. The team from the winner’s bracket will have a one map advantage entering the series. The format will look like this:

  • Map 1: Hardpoint
  • Map 2: Search and Destroy
  • Map 3: Domination
  • Map 4: Hardpoint
  • Map 5: Search and Destroy
  • Map 6: Domination
  • Map 7: Hardpoint
  • Map 8: Search and Destroy

After all is said and done, the winning team will walk away with $1.5 million dollars. Following the winner though, the prize money will be distributed as follows:

  • 2nd Place: $900,000
  • 3rd Place: $600,00
  • 4th Place: $450,000
  • 5th Place: $300,000 – Two teams
  • 7th Place: $175,000 – Two teams
  • 9th Place: $100,000 – Two teams

While there’s still a little over a month to go, the CDL has plenty planned for its final stretch. Stay tuned to Daily Esports so you don’t miss any news or updates!

More News