nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

The Pokémon Company has announced the VGC Series 7 ruleset for Pokémon Sword and Shield. Notably, it marks the return of the sixteen Pokémon that were on the Series 6 banlist. Series 7 will debut on November 1.

Along with the returning Pokémon, VGC Series 7 will feature many new ones making their debut in Sword and Shield. When the Crown Tundra DLC launches on October 22, it will introduce several Pokémon from older generations into the games. This includes several Legendary Pokémon that will be playable in competitive battles. The DLC will also feature two new Pokémon, Regieleki and Regidrago, and new forms for Slowking, Articuno, Zapdos, and Moltres.

To be eligible for upcoming battles, Pokémon must have the Galar symbol or the battle-ready symbol. This means they originated in the Galar region or are ready for Galar battles after their transfer from another game. Trainers can use any Pokémon with a Galar, Isle of Armor, or Crown Tundra Pokédex entry, barring Mythicals and some Legendaries.

Pokémon Sword and Shield VGC Series 7

Fan-favorite Pokémon from VGC Series 5 will undoubtedly make a splash again in Series 7. Rillaboom, Togekiss, Cinderace, Incineroar, Dragapult, and Porygon2 are just a few of the Pokémon players can expect to see rise in popularity once again.

Of course, perhaps the most exciting additions are those completely new to the games in the Crown Tundra. Strong contenders from past VGC metagames like Dragonite, Metagross, and Garchomp will return for competition once again. In addition, several Legendary Pokémon will be available for use. Some of the most powerful among them include Heatran, Cresselia, Landorus, and the guardians of the Alola region: Tapu Koko, Tapu Bulu, Tapu Fini, and Tapu Lele.

Beginning in November, the VGC Series 7 ruleset will apply to all competitive Pokémon Sword and Shield events. These include the Pokémon Players Cup II Region Qualifiers and other upcoming Video Game Championship events.