nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Valve has released new information regarding the 2021-22 DOTA Pro Circuit season. The main changes to keep in mind are an additional “Tour,” meaning that there will be an extra regular season to play and a different distribution of DPC points.

An extra regular season in the DOTA Pro Circuit 2021-22

Instead of the two Majors that were present for the 2020-2021 season, the DOTA Pro Circuit will now have three Majors. This also means that there will be an extra regular season for teams to play per year. The more games played, the more variability there will be in terms of DPC points throughout the year. Most importantly, winning any of the regular seasons will now provide just as many DPC points as winning a Major will. This distribution of points will put a larger emphasis on winning a regular season compared to before. Just like previous seasons, any team that ends bottom two at the end of a regular season will be relegated from their respective division.

DOta Pro Circuit schedule for 2021-22
The new DPC season will now host an extra regular season and Major per year. | Provided by Valve

According to the distribution of the points in Valve’s blog post, there will be an increasing number of DPC points later in the season it is. This mechanic acts as a catchup mechanism later in the season. If point distribution were equal, a dominating team could very easily play hard for the first two regular seasons, do well at a Major, and secure enough points to coast through the final regular season.

DPC regular season point distribution
Varying DPC point distributions changes affects how teams will plan ahead of the new season. | Provided by Valve

Valve has also announced that the roster lock deadline for the fall tour, starting at the end of November, will be Nov. 21, 2021 at midnight PST.

At the end of the three Major season, the top teams in the world will once again face off at The International 11. The top 12 teams will be directly invited through number of DPC points a team has gained throughout the season. The final six teams will be determined through regional qualifiers, where teams from the upper and lower division will face off in a double-elimination bracket to crown a single winner. The winner will then go on to attend The International 11.