nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

On Jan. 15, Hearthstone released a new video, explaining more about the new Galakrond’s Awakening adventure. In the video, Hearthstone Game Designers Dave Kosak and Dean Ayala share important information about the upcoming expansion. Aside from details about the new adventure, four new cards also made their debut. 

Two adventures await with Galakrond’s Awakening

In the upcoming solo adventure, Galakrond’s Awakening, you will be able to play through two different sides of a story. Both the League of E.V.I.L. and the League of Explorers each tell you their side of events, leading to the Awakening of Galakrond. Each side of the story will have 12 different challenges to complete. Players will be able to earn a total of 35 new cards with the expansion, including four new legendary cards. 

One returning event in Galakrond’s Awakening is a new version of the “Chess” boss from One Night in Karazhan. This time the challenge is called the “Sky battle”. However, the mechanics will still work similarly to the Black King boss. Each minion on the board will launch an attack on the enemies across from them. If a minion is not opposing an enemy, the attack will head towards the hero instead. This event was a fan favorite and made a return several times through the Tavern Brawl. 

The first new cards

The video revealed the first four cards of the new expansion, which includes class-specific cards for Druid, Priest, and Paladin. However, the most exciting reveal is the new neutral legendary card Grand Lackey Erkh. It is expected that the new cards will be coming in the first part of the Galakrond’s Awakening adventure. That being said, one or more of these cards may be released in the later weeks of the event. 

Winged Guardian Air Raid Grand Lackey Erkh Aeon Reaver

The first part of Galakrond’s Awakening will launch Jan. 21. For more news surrounding Hearthstone, be sure to read all about the special Fireside Gathering loot.