nav logo

Hit enter to search or ESC to close

Editor’s note: This story has been updated to show that these players were officially signed after Sept. 5.

In a new report from CDL Intel that was also confirmed by Upcomer, the LA Guerrillas are revamping their roster in a major way; their potential team for next year consists of Austin “SlasheR” Liddicoat, Cuyler “Huke” Garland, Obaid “Asim” Asim and Pierce “Gunless” Hillman.

The squad was built around SlasheR as the anchor. He has the most experience of anyone on the roster, boasting a world championship and strong leadership skills. The pieces around him consist of other veterans who each had different experiences during the 2021 season. However, the ceiling of the roster could be one of the highest in the CDL.

LA Guerrillas sign SlasheR with three other players

SlasheR is coming off a difficult 2021 season. He was benched early on with the LA Thieves, as he didn’t find much success playing online. When the CDL moved back to LAN, though, the Thieves promoted him back onto the starting roster. Huke, who experienced an even more turbulent season, was also promoted.

After being benched by Dallas, Huke was traded to the LA Thieves. He quickly fell out of favor, though, and was subsequently benched. Like SlasheR, he came back for the CDL’s first LAN event, the Stage 4 Major. Although, Huke infamously messed up his COVID test and couldn’t play. He was then benched once again.

As for Gunless and Asim, both had strong seasons in 2021. Asim proved his worth on a strong New York Subliners team, while Gunless put up solid numbers on the failing Seattle Surge.

This roster has a mountain of potential on paper but has some definite question marks. Will Huke return to his 2020 world champion form? How will SlasheR and the LA Guerrillas fare if the CDL is once again online in 2022? The hope is every player can mesh well together and turn the franchise around. LAG has won a combined $30,000 in two seasons, the least out of all 12 teams.

The LA Guerrillas announced the signing of all four players on Sept. 6.