ECS Season 8 details revealed

The LAN finals see a return to the United States.

Counter-Strike: GO's Icon George Geddes · 9 Aug 2019


Screenshot via FACEIT/Twitch

The eighth iteration of FACEIT’s ECS tournament series is soon to be underway as the details have been announced. The ECS Season 8 finals sees a return to North America, with the venue yet to be announced. 

The prize pool is broken down into two parts. First, there will be a $500,000 prize pool for the Finals and another $250,000 in the regular season. 

One change from last season is the first two teams to qualify for the ECS Season 8 LAN Finals will be the highest prize money earners from the first two weeks of competition. 

As usual, both North America and Europe will have its separate seasons which will begin on September 16 and run until October 31. The open qualifiers will begin this month and will take place from August 12-25, separated into four qualifiers. 

Both regions will utilize five best-of-three knockout brackets to qualify for the finals, ensuring that every game holds a high stake.  

Never miss a moment in esports.

Match notifications, latest esports news, and more. Get the Upcomer app now.

Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

ECS Season 7 in June 2019 was won by Vitality after the team defeated FURIA 2-0 in a best-of-three game. French superstar Mathieu “ZywOo” Herbaut was awarded the MVP of the event. 

Currently, the teams in the ECS Season 8 Europe division are: 

  • Vitality
  • Astralis 
  • Ninjas in Pyjamas 
  • North
  • OpTic Gaming
  • Fnatic
  • FaZe
  • Mousesports
  • Virtus.Pro

Currently, the teams in the ECS Season 8 North America division are: 

  • NRG
  • compLexity
  • Made in Brazil
  • Team Liquid 
  • INTZ
  • Luminosity Gaming
  • Cloud9
  • eUnited
  • Spacestation 

To enter the open qualifiers, full details can be viewed here

Latest Stories


Trending Stories