All CS:GO ranks in order — Here’s how the CS:GO ranking system works - Upcomer
A character in CS:GO. Players can climb through all CS:GO ranks to reach Global Elite.
Provided by Valve

All CS:GO ranks in order — Here’s how the CS:GO ranking system works

What to know about attaining and changing your first rank

In Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, players can take on the game’s Competitive mode in order to find high-stakes matches against other players of a similar skill level. As players improve, their in-game rank will increase as well, enabling them to work their way through all of the CS:GO ranks.

Recommended Videos

Naturally, increasing your rank is the best way to encounter and challenge increasingly better opponents. With that in mind, here’s an overview of all of the CS:GO ranks in order and how the CS:GO ranking system works.

All CS:GO ranks in order

All CS:GO ranks in order
Ranks are available for beginners and the best of the best alike. | Provided by Valve

CS:GO features 18 different ranks in total, which are split up into broader categories like Silver, Gold and Master Guardian. In general, the majority of players tend to fall in the middle of the pack, which is toward the end of the Gold range.

Here are all of the CS:GO ranks in the order players can attain them:

  • Silver I
  • Silver II
  • Silver III
  • Silver IV
  • Silver Elite
  • Silver Elite Master
  • Gold Nova I
  • Gold Nova II
  • Gold Nova III
  • Gold Nova Master
  • Master Guardian I
  • Master Guardian II
  • Master Guardian Elite
  • Distinguished Master Guardian
  • Legendary Eagle
  • Legendary Master
  • Supreme Master First Class
  • Global Elite

How the CS:GO ranking system works

Before players can begin working through all of the CS:GO ranks, they will have to endure a bit of a waiting period. Competitive matchmaking first becomes available after a player reaches Level 2 by playing in other modes. However, players will not be able to immediately jump in and begin grinding ranked battles.

In order to prevent top players from smurfing with new accounts, the developers implemented a system that limits new accounts to only winning two Competitive matches per day. However, players will receive their first rank after playing 10 Competitive matches. As a result, the new account limit should wear off after only five days of playing.

Afterward, players can move up and down the rankings based on their performance in matches. Their in-game rating will go up any time they win a game and go down any time they lose a game. In-game performance metrics like kills, assists and deaths can also impact a player’s rating. However, players should note that whether their team wins or loses has the biggest impact on their rating.

While solo queuing, players will only queue into teammates and opponents within five ranks of their current rank. However, players can bypass this by joining up with a premade team, where there is no limit on the rank gap between players.

Image of Dylan Tate
Dylan Tate
Dylan Tate is an alumnus of the Hussman School of Journalism and Media at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He is a gaming journalist with a love for Nintendo esports, particularly Super Smash Bros. and Pokémon.